Local Administrator accounts have no additional reference information associated to them, unlike classroom accounts. If an administrator leaves the school, then the immediate action should be to:
Dismissal accounts have no additional reference information associated to them, unlike classroom accounts. If a dismissal staff person leaves the school, then the immediate action should be to:
Classroom accounts require a bit more consideration than other accounts due to the association of students to the classroom. Moreover, one should consider whether this change is being made during the school year or whether the change is occurring during the summer break.
Classroom accounts may have:
In addition to the association of students to the account, the account may also have custom settings for:
When a classroom teacher is replaced during the regular school year, the suggested method for addressing the classroom account is as follows:
This approach will leave all of the prior classroom teacher's settings intact. It is important to note the date the new staff member starts so that when reviewing past performance the actions of the prior staff member are not mistakenly attributed to the new staff member.
If your school has an A/B alternating schedule for this classroom, students will need to be assigned for both the A and B days. The fourth column for the new classroom teacher will have two entries titled Classroom . The top entry is for A days and the bottom is for B days. Both A and B days need to be assigned to the new account.
An alternate method to reusing the existing account is as follows:
Because a new account has been created with only the base students added, other options such as display format, display time, temporary students, other classrooms, and daily student settings will not be set and may require additional consideration depending upon the requirements for your school.
Historic records associated to the old account will no longer display the name of the account holder performing the action, the user name will simply be blank. Records associated to the new account will be distinguishable from those associated to the old account.
When classroom staff changes from year to year the old account should always be deleted and a new account created. The new account will have the students assigned in the same manner in which other, non-changed accounts are performed.
In some instances, a user may be assigned to a different role during the school year. When performing an account role change ensure that the user needs a different account rather than an additional account.
For example, a user who has traditionally only performed dismissal activities may now be required to perform Local Admin functions. If this person's role now no longer requires any dismissal functions then the account role may be changed, but if this person now fulfills Local Admin functions during the day and dismissal functions at the end of the day, then the role should not be changed. Instead, an additional account should be created for this person with a distinct User ID.
The only additional attribute to specify is the default dismissal location for the account. This is optional, and if not specified will default to the first location alphabetically.
When converting a Local Admin account to a Classroom account, it is necessary to add students to be viewed. This may or may not include directly assigned students or may only include students associated as temporary, daily, or other classroom; dependent upon the needs of your school.
When a dismissal account is converted to a Local Admin account no additional changes are required. Be mindful that when a dismissal account is changed to a Local Admin account, that account will no longer be able to use the mobile Silent Dismissal Staff Connect app.
When converting a Dismissal account to a Classroom account, it is necessary to add students to be viewed. This may or may not include directly assigned students or may only include students associated as temporary, daily, or other classroom; dependent upon the needs of your school.
Converting from a classroom account to a different type of account will result in all normally assigned students, either for A or B days, to become unassigned. After converting the existing account it is recommended to view the Reports / Possible Errors and pay particular attention to the section titled Students Not Assigned to Classroom to ensure that all students will have his or her name displayed at the end of the day.
Additionally, other classrooms that were view this classroom will no longer have those students included if they have been added by association to an entire classroom either from the Other Class or from the Daily setting if the Daily setting is set to the no longer existing previous account.
Prior to converting the classroom account, it is imperative to review all of the current classroom settings to ensure that any student appearing only on this classroom display is assigned to at least one additional classroom display.
The students no longer assigned to the removed classroom must be assigned to either an existing Classroom account or a new Classroom account.
Converting a Classroom account to a Dismissal account requires the same considerations as when changing to a Local Admin account.