Using a group type of Immediate, it is possible to summon students to the office, or any other defined location, prior to the start of normal dismissal for the purpose of distributing special items or information.
Some initial set up is required, but this only needs to be done one time.
Any location to which students will need to be directed prior to normal dismissal needs to be defined. Follow these steps:
A group of type Immediate is required to assign students. Follow these steps:
All students from previous days must be removed from the group prior to adding students for the current day.
This step must be performed by a dismissal account user.
If the group has been set up with an automatic dismissal time for the current day of the week, perform the following steps:
This procedure may be used when an automatic dismissal time has not been set or when it is desirable to summon the group prior to the preset time
It is possible to review the list of students notified for the special instructions and to determine if the students have received the message:
Transactions in Silent Dismissal are processed as they occur but do not retroactively affect students who are added to a group. For this reason it is important that the sequence for processing students for navigation prior to regular dismissal be performed in a rigorous manner:
Students who have been designated during the day for an explicit dismissal reason will not be notified in the classroom for this immediate group when it is called. Using the Group Load view will assist in identifying any student who needs to be notified using a method outside of Silent Dismissal
If a student is added to the group after the group has been called for the day, either manually or automatically, that student will not be called simply because the student was added to the group. Those students who need to be added to the group after the group has been called may be added but the group must be manually dismissed again for the additional student name(s) to appear in the classroom
If the group is called multiple times the display in the classroom will show the last workflow status for the student. For example, if a child is called and marked as departed, subsequent calls for that student, ostensibly for them to again go the office, will be displayed in the classroom as Departed. Similarly, once marked as Loaded in the front office, if called again on the same day, the student status will remain as loaded so the student will not appear on the Group Load view.